#### IOWA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 | Des Moines, Iowa 50315 USA | Phone: 515.348.6200

iowaeda.com



#### **MINUTES**

Iowa Economic Development Authority
Community Attraction and Tourism (CAT) Review Committee Meeting
December 20, 2024
9:00 a.m.

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 - Helmick Conference Room

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

**COMMITTEE MEMBER(S) ABSENT:** 

Melissa Ballard Doug Boone Bobbi Bentz

Mark Kittrell

Megan McKay

#### STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Megan Andrew Lisa Connell Rita Grimm Emily Hockins Anna Lensing Rick Peterson

Katie Rockey

Sonya Bacon
Debi Durham
Melissa Harshbarger
Staci Hupp Ballard
Molly Lopez
Maicie Pohlman

Alaina Santizo

Vicky Clinkscales
Heather Gibb
Tina Hinz
Kanan Kappelman
Anne McMahon (Joined @ 7:09 am)

Terry Roberson
Deanna Triplett

# OTHERS PRESENT:

Tyler Barnard – Iowa Finance Authority Emily Schmitt – IEDA Board Member Hank Norem – IEDA Board Member Jennifer Steffensmeier – IEDA Board M

Jennifer Steffensmeier – IEDA Board Member David Barker – IEDA Ex-Officio Member

Representative Heather Matson Mark Ernst – Black Hills Energy

Jason White – Greater Dubuque Development

Corp

Tom Steward - Holmes Murphy

Richard Martin - National Czech & Slovak

Museum & Library

Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency Jessica Flannery – Iowa House of Democrats Mike Griffin Courtney Bushell – Iowa Finance Authority Pankaj Monga – IEDA Board Member Lisa Shimkat – IEDA Board Member Tom Townsend – IEDA Board Member Jay Byers – IEDA Ex-Officio Member Representative Ray Sorensen

Representative Ray Sorensen

David Bernstein – Kooima Company

Ryan Carroll - Greater Des Moines Partnership

Casey Woodside - ITC Holdings Corp

Marla Quinn - East Central Intergovernmental

Association

Mike Mendenhall - Business Record

Mike Steines (Joined @ 9:09 am)

#### **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Welcome

Community Attraction and Tourism (CAT) Review Committee Chair Melissa Ballard called to order the meeting at 9:03 am

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the Committee was established with the following members present: Melissa Ballard, Doug Boone and Mark Kittrell.

Approval of Minutes - November 15, 2024 CAT Meeting

MOTION: Mark Kittrell moved that the Committee approve the minutes of the November 15, 2024 meeting, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

# COMMUNITY ATTRACTION AND TOURISM (CAT) PROGRAM APPLICATIONS - RECOMMENDATIONS TO IEDA BOARD

National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library Orloj Clocktower Project - Cedar Rapids

<u>MOTION:</u> Mark Kittrell moved that the Committee recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$42,500 CAT grant to the National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library, Inc. and the City of Cedar Rapids for the Orloj Clocktower Project, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously.

Maquoketa Prairie Creek Restoration Area Enhancements Project - Maquoketa

<u>MOTION:</u> Doug Boone moved that the Committee recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$400,000 CAT grant to the City of Maquoketa and Jackson County for the Maquoketa Prairie Creek Restoration Area Enhancements Project, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Motion carried unanimously.

Pella Recreation Center Project - Pella

<u>MOTION:</u> Mark Kittrell moved that the Committee recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$500,000 CAT grant to the City of Pella for the Pella Recreation Center Project, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously.

Pioneer Trail Reinbeck Gap - Grundy Center

MOTION: Doug Boone moved that the Committee recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$214,000 CAT grant to the Grundy County Conservation Board for the Pioneer Trail Reinbeck Gap Project, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Motion carried unanimously.

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next CAT Review Committee meeting will be held on Friday, January 17, 2024

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the CAT Review Committee, the chair adjourned the meeting at 9:14 am.

Respectfully submitted:

Sonya B*a*con

Board Administrator

Approved as to form:

Chair