#### IOWA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 | Des Moines, Iowa 50315 USA | Phone: 515.348.6200 iowaeda.com



# MINUTES Iowa Economic Development Authority Board Meeting December 20, 2024 9:15 a.m. 1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 – Helmick Conference Room

# BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Emily Schmitt Doug Boone Melissa Ballard Mark Kittrell Pankaj Monga Hank Norem Lisa Shimkat Jennifer Steffensmeier Tom Townsend

# **EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS PRESENT:**

David Barker Jay Byers Representative Heather Matson

#### BOARD MEMBER(S) ABSENT: Bobbi Bentz

Megan McKay

## **EX-OFFICIO MEMBER(S) ABSENT:**

David Bernstein - Kooima Company, LLC

Casey Woodside - ITC Holdings Corp

Mike Mendenhall - Business Record

Association (Left @ 9:47 am)

Mike Griffin (Left @ 10:09 am)

Ryan Carroll – Greater Des Moines Partnership

Marla Quinn - East Central Intergovernmental

Rob Denson Senator Izaah Knox Senator Carrie Koelker Representative Ray Sorensen

# STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Megan Andrew Lisa Connell Rita Grimm Staci Hupp Ballard Molly Lopez Maicie Pohlman Alaina Santizo Sonya Bacon Debi Durham Tina Hinz Kanan Kappelman Anne McMahon Terry Roberson Paul Stueckradt

Vicky Clinkscales Heather Gibb Emily Hockins Anna Lensing Rick Peterson (Left @ 10:11 am) Katie Rockey Deanna Triplett

#### OTHERS PRESENT: Courtney Bushell – Iowa Finance Authority

Tyler Barnard – Iowa Finance Authority Mark Ernst – Black Hills Energy Jason White – Greater Dubuque Development Corp Tom Steward – Holmes Murphy Richard Martin – National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library

Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency Jessica Flannery – Iowa House Democrats Jace Mikels – Iowa House Democrats

## **BOARD CHAIR**

Welcome

lowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA) Board Chair Emily Schmitt called to order the meeting of the IEDA Board at 9:29 am

Roll Call/Introductions
 A quorum of the IEDA Board was established with the following Board members present: Emily
 Schmitt, Doug Boone, Melissa Ballard, Mark Kittrell, Pankaj Monga, Hank Norem, Lisa Shimkat,
 Jennifer Steffensmeier and Tom Townsend.
 Ex Officie members present: David Barker, Jay Pyors and Pepresentative Heather Metson

Ex-Officio members present: David Barker, Jay Byers and Representative Heather Matson.

# OVERNOR KIM REYNOLDS | DIRECTOR DEBI DURHAM

# Approval of Minutes – November 15, 2024 IEDA Meeting

**MOTION:** Lisa Shimkat moved that the IEDA Board approve the minutes of the November 15, 2024 IEDA Board meeting, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

# **COMPLIANCE – CONSENT AGENDA**

#### 120 Day Report

Vemerald, LLC – 30 Day Extension Daisy Grand, LLC – 30 Day Extension

**MOTION:** Doug Boone moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the recommendations of the DDC regarding the items on the Consent Agenda, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

# FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS

#### Kooima Company, LLC – Rock Valley

**MOTION:** Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board accept the recommendation of the DDC to award a maximum of \$464,000 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$15,000 in Research Activities Credit, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

#### HMA Group Holdings, LLC – West Des Moines/Waukee

**MOTION:** Lisa Shimkat moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board accept the recommendation of the DDC to award a maximum of \$ 269,900 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$144,000 in Sales and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Melissa Ballard. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

## COMMUNITY ATTRACTION AND TOURISM (CAT) PROGRAM

National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library Orloj Clocktower Project – Cedar Rapids <u>MOTION:</u> Mark Kittrell moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$42,500 CAT Grant to the National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library, Inc. and the City of Cedar Rapids for the Orloj Clocktower Project, seconded by Melissa Ballard. Motion carried unanimously.

# Richard Martin, Development Coordinator, National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library, addressed the board.

#### Maguoketa Prairie Creek Restoration Area Enhancements Project - Maguoketa

**MOTION:** Doug Boone moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$400,000 CAT Grant to the City of Maquoketa and Jackson County for the Maquoketa Prairie Creek Restoration Area Enhancements Project, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

# Pella Recreation Center Project – Pella

**MOTION:** Mark Kittrell moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$500,000 CAT Grant to the City of Pella for the Pella Recreation Center Project, seconded by Melissa Ballard. Motion carried unanimously.

# Pioneer Trail Reinbeck Gap Project – Grundy Center

**MOTION:** Doug Boone moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$214,000 CAT Grant to the Grundy County Conservation Board for the Pioneer Trail Reinbeck Gap Project, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

# APPROVAL OF VENDORS

**MOTION:** Mark Kittrell moved that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board authorize the IEDA to extend the length of the contract with R3 Uniq, Inc. / Quadyster (Quadyster) for the digitization of State Historic Preservation Office records by 21 months and increase the amount to be paid to Quadystar by \$615,000 to\$775,000, seconded by Melissa Ballard. Motion carried unanimously.

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next DDC meeting will be held on Friday, January 17, 2025

# ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the DDC, the chair adjourned the meeting at 10:15 am.

# **Respectfully submitted:**

# Approved as to form:

Sonya Bacon Board Administrator

Emily \$ chmitt Chair