IOWA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 | Des Moines, Iowa 50315 USA | Phone: 515.348.6200

iowaeda.com



AGENDA lowa Arts Council Board of Directors Meeting June 19, 2025 11:00 a.m.

Marshall County Arts & Culture Alliance Offices 126 W Main Street Marshalltown, Iowa 50158

Public Webinar Access: https://akaiowa.us/iac*

I. Call to Order Amber Danielson

a. Welcome

b. Roll call

c. Approval of April 2025 meeting minutes

Action

II. Consent Agenda

a. Review of meeting agenda

b. Arts Council program activity update

III. Report from Chair Amber Danielson

IV. National Assembly of State Arts Agencies (NASAA) Virtual Update Katie Hughes

V. Arts Council Director's Report David Schmitz

VI. Board Task Force Updates (15 minutes)

a. Folk and Traditional Arts Task Force

b. Creative Economy Task Force

Suzanne Conquest, Gerald Brown

Donna Dostal, Akwi Nji

Amber Danielson

VII. Lunch Break

VIII. Iowa Arts Caucus Preview & Board Discussion (45 minutes)

- a. FY2026 Funding Allocations & Regional Partners Strategy
- b. Other goals

IX. Strategic State Arts Plan Review and Kickoff to Updating Plan (75 minutes)

- a. 2022-2026 Strategic Plan Progress vs goals
 - i. Focus for FY2026 (July 1, 2025 June 30, 2026)
- b. Progress for developing next State arts plan (2027-2030)
- c. Action steps for Board Strategic Planning Task Force

X. Public Comment

A public comment period will be held at this time to accommodate visitors. The period is limited to 10 minutes. Persons who will make public comments are encouraged to provide advance notice to Board Administrator Elizabeth Ferreira at elizabeth.ferreira@iowaeda.com or (515) 348-6325.

XI. Other Business

- a. Board terms
- b. Election of Board Chair and Vice-Chair

XII. Adjournment

Amber Danielson

The next meeting of the Iowa Arts Council Board of Directors is September 18 at 10:00 a.m.

Iowa Arts Council Board of Directors:

Amber Danielson – Chair, Donna Dostal – Vice Chair, Gerald Brown, Jake Brus, Suzanne Conquest, Tim Dickmeyer, Lance Ehmcke, Bruce Miller, Akwi Nji, Heather Perry, Claudia Rivera, Shannon Rodriguez, Adam Spiegel, and Frank Sposeto

Please Note:

The meeting will convene no earlier than stated above, but may begin later, depending upon length of earlier meetings. Some members of the board may participate electronically due to travel issues. Agenda items may be considered out of order at the discretion of the Chair. If you require accommodation to participate in this public meeting, call (515) 348-6325 to make your request. Please notify us as long as possible in advance of meeting.

*This meeting will be accessible to members of the public in person at IEDA or click on the link above to request the link to participate in the meeting via Teams. You will be directed to register to receive the link.