

# MINUTES Iowa Energy Center Board Special Board Meeting October 9, 2024 3:30 p.m. 1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 – Missouri Conference Room

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Stuart Anderson, *Chair* Craig Just, *Vice Chair* Naomi DeWinter Mayuri Farlinger Erik Helland Anne Kimber Christy Ryken Taaf Vermeulen Lanny Zieman

#### **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Kelcey Brown Troy DeJoode Debi Durham Matt Washburn

### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT**:

Catalina Bos Amber Buckingham Lisa Connell Jeff Geerts Kristin Hanks-Bents Emily Hockins Kanan Kappelman Nick Michaud Tim Morlan Terry Roberson Michael Thibodeau Stephanie Weisenbach

### **OTHERS PRESENT**:

Brenda Biddle, Iowa Utilities Commission

Jace Mikels, Iowa Senate Democratic Caucus

#### I. Welcome and Introductions

#### Roll Call

Chair Anderson called to order the October 9, 2024, special meeting of the Iowa Energy Center (IEC) Board of Directors at 3:31 p.m. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was established. The following Board members were **present:** Stuart Anderson, Craig Just, Naomi DeWinter, Mayuri Farlinger, Erik Helland, Anne Kimber, Christy Ryken, Taaf Vermeulen, and Lanny Zieman. The following Board members were **absent**: Kelcey Brown, Troy DeJoode, Debi Durham, and Matt Washburn.

### II. Energy Infrastructure Revolving Loan Program (EIRLP)

### a. EIRLP Update

Ms. Weisenbach provided an update regarding the Energy Infrastructure Revolving Loan Program (EIRLP).

### b. Updates to Policies and Procedures Handbook

Ms. Weisenbach reviewed updates and proposed a motion to approve the proposed changes to the policies and procedures handbook, including Appendix A: Program Emphasis.

**MOTION:** On a motion by Mr. Just and seconded by Ms. Ryken, the Board unanimously approved the changes to the policies and procedures handbook, including Appendix A: Program Emphasis.

# III. 21-IEC-001 Grant Modification Request

Ms. Buckingham proposed a motion to approve the assignment of grant agreement 21-IEC-001 to Eocene Environmental Group.

**MOTION**: Ms. Kimber made a motion to approve 21-IEC-001 Grant Modification Request. On a second by Mr. Zieman, a roll call vote was taken with the following results: **Yes:** Stuart Anderson, Craig Just, Naomi DeWinter, Mayuri Farlinger, Erik Helland, Anne Kimber, Christy Ryken, Taaf Vermeulen, and Lanny Zieman; **No:** None; **Abstain:** None. The motion passed.

#### IV. Other Business

Ms. Hanks-Bents provided information regarding staff transitions and presentations expected during the December 12, 2024, board meeting.

## V. Public Comment Period

No public comments were received.

### VI. Adjournment

Chair Anderson adjourned the October 9, 2024, special meeting of the Iowa Energy Center board at 3:48 p.m.

Dated this 12<sup>th</sup> day of December 2024:

#### **Respectfully submitted:**

Approved as to form:

Catalina Bos Interim Board Administrator Stuart Anderson Iowa Energy Center Board Chair