### IOWA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 | Des Moines, Iowa 50315 USA | Phone: 515.348.6200

iowaeda.com



### **MINUTES**

**Iowa Economic Development Authority Due Diligence Committee Meeting** November 15, 2024 9:05 a.m.

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 - Helmick Conference Room

Mark Kittrell

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

COMMITTEE MEMBER(S) ABSENT:

Doug Boone

Megan McKay

**Emily Schmitt** 

Lisa Shimkat

Jennifer Steffensmeier

# **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Melissa Ballard Bobbi Bentz Pankaj Monga Hank Norem Tom Townsend

### **EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS PRESENT:**

David Barker Jay Byers Representative Heather Matson Representative Ray Sorensen

## STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sonya Bacon Vicky Clinkscales Megan Andrew Rita Grimm Debi Durham Lisa Connell Kanan Kappelman **Emily Hockins** Staci Hupp Ballard Anna Lensing Anne McMahon (Joined @ 9:14 am) Rick Peterson (Joined @ 9:12 am) Maicie Pohlman Katie Rockey Terry Roberson Alania Santizo Paul Stueckradt Deanna Triplett

### OTHERS PRESENT:

Brooke Parziale - Iowa Finance Authority Jessica Flannery – Iowa House Democrats

Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency

Jace Mikels - Iowa Senate Democrats Mark Ernst - Black Hills Energy

Jason White - Greater Dubuque Development

Corporation

Nick Pfeiffer - Think Iowa City Casey Woodside - ITC Midwest

### **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Welcome

Due Diligence Committee (DDC) Chair Doug Boone called to order the meeting of the DCC at 9:06 am

Roll Call and Introductions

A guorum of the Committee was established with the following DDC members present: Doug Boone, Megan McKay, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Jennifer Steffensmeier Other Board members present: Melissa Ballard, Bobbi Bentz, Pankaj Monga, Hank Norem and Tom Townsend

Ex-Officio members present: David Barker, Jay Byers, Representative Heather Matson and Representative Ray Sorensen

Approval of Minutes - October 18, 2024 DDC Meeting

**MOTION:** Emily Schmitt moved that the DDC approve the minutes of the October 18, 2024 DDC meeting, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

**PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD:** Jason White of Greater Dubuque Development Corporation addressed the board.

### COMPLIANCE

Ag Processing, Inc. a Cooperative, Woodbury County: Request to Extend Project Completion Date

<u>MOTION:</u> Megan McKay moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request for a 12-month extension of the Project Completion Date to November 2025, seconded by Emily Schmitt. Motion carried unanimously.

Ironwood 53, LLC and Whitetail Holdings, LLC – Sioux County: Request to Extend Project Completion Date

<u>MOTION:</u> Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request for a 12-month Extension of the Project Completion Date to March 2025, seconded by Emily Schmitt. Results of Voice Vote: Aye: Emily Schmitt, Jennifer Steffensmeier, Megan McKay and Lisa Shimkat. Nay: None. Abstain: Doug Boone. Motion carried.

Mid-Am Building Supply, Inc. and Knaebel's, Inc. – Mount Pleasant: Request to Extend Project Completion Date

MOTION: Megan McKay moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve the request for a 4-month Extension of the Project Completion Date to September 30, 2024, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

### FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATION

Universal Tank & Fabrication, Inc. - Dubuque

<u>MOTION:</u> Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the DDC recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a maximum award of \$154,6000 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum award of \$120,000 in Sales and Use Tax Refund, contingent upon application sponsorship and approval of local match by the City of Dubuque, seconded by Megan McKay. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next DDC meeting will be held on Friday, December 20, 2024

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the DDC, the chair adjourned the meeting at 9:16 am.

Respectfully submitted:

Sonya Bacon Board Administrator Doug Boone

Approved as to form:

Chair