# IOWA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 | Des Moines, Iowa 50315 USA | Phone: 515.348.6200

iowaeda.com



#### **MINUTES**

Iowa Economic Development Authority
Community Attraction and Tourism (CAT) Review Committee Meeting
October 18, 2024
9:00 a.m.

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 - Helmick Conference Room

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Melissa Ballard Bobbi Bentz

Doug Boone
Mark Kittrell

Megan McKay

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS PRESENT: EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS ABSENT:

David Barker Jay Byers

Rob Denson Senator Izaah Knox Senator Carrie Koelker

Representative Heather Matson

Representative Ray Sorensen

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sonya BaconVicky ClinkscalesLisa ConnellRita GrimmEmily HockinsKanan KappelmannAmy Kuhlers (Joined @ 9:02 am)Molly LopezAnne McMahonMaicie PohlmanTerry RobersonKatie Rockey

Alaina Santizo Paul Stueckradt Deanna Triplett

**OTHERS PRESENT:** 

Bernadette Beck – Iowa Finance Authority (Joined @ Tim Greenwood – Iowa Finance Authority 9:02 am)

Brian Sullivan – Iowa Finance Authority Nick Pfeiffer – Think Iowa City

David Gross – Sioux City Symphony

Jessica Flannery – Iowa House Democrats

Michael Crumb – Business Record (Joined @ 9:02 am)

Aaron DeJong – City of Urbandale (Joined @ 9:05 am)

Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency Jason White – Greater Dubuque Development

Corporation

Nate Easter – Krause+ Dylan Kline – Ames Economic Development

Commission

Naomi Hamlett - City of Des Moines Dan Jensen – Iowa Soccer Development

Foundation

Addison Lathers – Des Moines Register Mark Ernst – Black Hills Energy

Casey Woodside – ITC Midwest Renae Mauk – Greater Des Moines Partnership

### **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Welcome

Alaina Santizo called to order the CAT meeting at 9:01 am

Roll Call and Introductions

A quorum of the Committee was established with the following CAT members present: Melissa Ballard, Doug Boone, Mark Kittrell and Megan McKay

Ex-Officio members present: David Barker

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

**MOTION:** Megan McKay moved that the Community Attraction and Tourism (CAT) Committee elect Melissa Ballard to serve as Board Chair until the election of officers in 2025, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Motion carried unanimously.

# COMMUNITY ATTRACTION AND TOURISM (CAT) PROGRAM APPLICATIONS – RECOMMENDATIONS TO IEDA BOARD

Making a Splash! - City of Grand Mound

<u>MOTION:</u> Doug Boone moved that the CAT committee recommend that the lowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$41,000 CAT grant to the City of Grand Mound for the Making a Splash! project, seconded by Mark Kittrell. Motion carried unanimously.

Music Education Center - Sioux City Symphony Orchestra Association

MOTION: Megan McKay moved that the CAT committee recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve a \$250,000 grant to the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra Association d/b/a Sioux City Symphony for the Music Education Center project, seconded by Doug Boone. Motion carried unanimously.

# **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next CAT meeting will be held on Friday, November 15, 2024

# **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the CAT, the chair adjourned the meeting at 9:07 am.

Respectfully submitted:

Sonya Bacon

Board Administrator

Approved as to form:

Melissa Ballard

Chair