IOWA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 | Des Moines, Iowa 50315 USA | Phone: 515.348.6200 iowaeda.com



### MINUTES Iowa Economic Development Authority Due Diligence Committee Meeting July 19, 2024 9:00 a.m. 1963 Bell Avenue, Suite 200 – Helmick Conference Room

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:**

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT: None

Doug Boone Mark Kittrell Megan McKay **Emily Schmitt** Lisa Shimkat Jennifer Steffensmeier

#### BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Melissa Ballard Bobbi Bentz (Joined at 9:04 am) Pankaj Monga (Joined at 9:02 am) Hank Norem Tom Townsend

Representative Ray Sorensen (Joined at 9:08 am)

#### BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: None

**EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

**David Barker** 

# **EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS ABSENT:** Jay Byers

**Rob Denson** Senator Izaah Knox Senator Carrie Koelker **Representative Heather Matson** 

#### STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Megan Andrew (Joined at 9:06 am) Vicky Clinkscales **Emily Hockins** Maicie Pohlman Alania Santizo Deanna Triplett

Sonya Bacon Debi Durham Kanan Kappelman Terry Roberson Nick Sorensen

Catalina Bos (Joined at 9:08 am) Rita Grimm Molly Lopez Katie Rockey Paul Stueckradt

## OTHERS PRESENT:

Micah Castanon - Iowa Finance Authority Brian Sullivan - Iowa Finance Authority Tim Greenwood – Iowa Finance Authority Jace Mickels - Iowa Senate Democrats Casey Woodside – ITC Holdings Corp Mark Ernst - Black Hills Energy Brian Selinger – ITC Holdings Corp Jason White - Greater Dubuque Development Corp Jessica Flannery - Iowa House Democrats (Joined at 9:03 am) Evan Johnson – Legislative Services Agency (Joined at 9:11 am)

## **COMMITTEE CHAIR**

- Welcome
- Due Diligence Committee (DDC) Chair Doug Boone called to order the meeting of the DCC at 9:00 am Roll Call and Introductions
  - A quorum of the Committee was established with the following DDC members present: Doug Boone, Mark Kittrell, Megan McKay, Emily Schmitt, Lisa Shimkat and Jennifer Steffensmeier

Other Board members present: Melissa Ballard, Bobbi Bentz, Pankaj Monga, Hank Norem and Tom Townsend

Ex-Officio members present: David Barker and Representative Ray Sorensen

#### Approval of Minutes - June 21, 2024 DDC Meeting

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Lisa Shimkat moved that the DDC approve the minutes of the June 21, 2024 DDC meeting, seconded by Megan McKay. Motion carried unanimously.

#### Approval of Agenda – July 19, 2024 DDC Meeting

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC approve the agenda for the July 19, 2024 DDC meeting, seconded by Lisa Shimkat. Motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No comments were made.

## COMPLIANCE

### 120 Day Report

Google LLC – 60 Day Extension Danisco US, Inc. – 90 Day Extension

**MOTION:** Mark Kittrell moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board approve extensions of the 120-day signing deadline as proposed for the two pending contracts listed, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Motion carried unanimously.

## FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE APPLICATIONS

#### C&A Scale Services, Inc. – Minden

**MOTION:** Jennifer Steffensmeier moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$45,856 in Investment Tax Credit and a maximum of \$60,000 in Sales and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Megan McKay. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

#### Cargill, Incorporated - Sioux City

**MOTION:** Lisa Shimkat moved that the DDC recommend that the Iowa Economic Development Authority Board award a maximum of \$302,400 in Investment Tax Credit, a maximum of \$33,600 in Sales and Use Tax Refund, seconded by Jennifer Steffensmeier. Roll Call vote was taken. Motion carried unanimously.

#### OTHER BUSINESS

The next DDC meeting will be held on Friday, August 16, 2024

#### ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the DDC, the chair adjourned the meeting at 9:12 am.

Respectfully submitted:

Sonya Bacon Board Administrator

Approved as to form:

Doug Boone

Chair